Kristin + Corey Paleo Log Blog


March 28, Day 28
March 29, 2010, 4:38 am
Filed under: Daily Not Bread, Effect on Workout, Food Log | Tags: ,

We slept in until 10:24 this morning.  This is a new world record for me.

Nolan’s still with his paternal grandparents, and so there’s no middle-of-the night wakeup calls, no desperate pleas for me to put Iron Man’s head back on his body.  The house it’s quiet.  I treasure it and want it gone at the same time, miss my little sidekick like crazy.

I got busy making a late Paleo breakfast at 10:25 am.

First, because it’s Sunday, a treat:

Here’s the perfected recipe by request:

2 cups almond flour

1 tbsp coconut flour (if you have it, lends a rich flavour but you can do without too)

1/2 cup unsweetened apple sauce

2 eggs

1 tsp baking powder

If you want them sweeter, you can add a little Stevia or agave nectar to taste.  I pick a different frozen berry everytime, this morning it was blackberries and raspberries mixed.  I place 4 or 5 berries on top of the muffins after I pour them into their muffin holders, to prevent blue batter.

Bake at 350 for about twenty minutes.

Breakfast, 10:40 AM Spaghetti Omelette

The only meat we had in the fridge was some organic lean ground beef.  I combined tomato paste, mushrooms, onions, cherry tomatoes, and the beef into a thick sauce and then whisked it into a two egg and one egg white omelette.  Corey was a fan, I give it a 7 out of 10.

Pre-run smoothie, 1 PM:

Fuel for our long run today: frozen banana + frozen berries + unsweetened almond milk and a whack load of ice.

(Turns out we got poured on and cancelled our run about 3 kilometers in.  It was pounding so hard I couldn’t see out of one eye.)

We did some work and then went to the gym around 6, so dinner was late:

Fresh Halibut with Asparagus and Mushrooms + Thai Red Curry Sauce

One of the best things about living in Vancouver is our access to lean, tasty, fresh seafood.  We picked up two small halibut steaks at Lonsdale Quay this afternoon.  It is so perfect, it only needs a tiny bit of lemon, garlic, pepper and olive oil.  But I felt creative, so whipped up a thai curry sauce to dip.  The mushrooms and asparagus were strangely good mingled with the curry, too.

One last thing.  I’ve been jonesing for bread. I want to make a decent paleo sandwich before this challenge is done in 3 more days.  So tonight, I experimented.  And made coconut bread:

It’s good: dense, slightly sweet, and really rich.  I’d make sandwiches with this, but using a very thin slice only.  Here’s the recipe, I followed it pretty closely though I omitted one egg and the salt (6 eggs seemed a little much).

We’re off to bed, deciding between Shutter Island and Dexter (oh my god, so addicted to Dexter.  Only in season 2, don’t tell me what happens!)

Have a great week!


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment