Kristin + Corey Paleo Log Blog


March 21, Day 21
March 22, 2010, 5:20 am
Filed under: Daily Not Bread, Emotions, Food Log

The rain pounded down this morning, grey and bleary, and we’re on Day 5 of house guests and since I’m an introvert loner at heart, I was a little stressed this morning.  Actually, Corey and I both were, and we were thinking that it was odd that we were both feeling discombobulated – perhaps it was the diet? But I think it’s just the change in our routine.  Cooking for more than 3 of us, especially on this diet, is a little hairy.

8am Breakfast: Coconut Almond Crepes with Fresh Mango, Strawberries, and Bananas

(I was in a rush, hence the blurry)

(I served Corey’s parents yogurt + maple syrup with theirs.  Corey and I just ate ours plain)

These were a bit of a bitch to make, but they’re delicious.

1/4 cup coconut flour

1 banana, mashed super fine

2 eggs

1/4 cup egg whites

1 tsp. pure almond extract

1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk.

Heat element/flame to high, then pre-heat pan with a bit of olive oil.  These are thin, so scoop only a little.  Mine spread unevenly but flipped well after about 4-5 minutes on med-high heat.  This made about 8 thin crepe like pancakes.  Heap on the fruit on top and they’re filling enough to tide you till lunch.

I had an epic nap at noon.  Almost two hours.  It was awesome and I was going to run afterward but you know..I’ve worked out hard 5 days this week and my back is a bit sore and though Friday was my rest day this week…I decided to make it 2 rest days this week.  I think my body needs it.

We were suddenly starving at 12:30 or so and Corey made me a snack while he made lunch.  For normal people, a snack is a hunk of bread or a cookie or perhaps some cheese and crackers.  My man made me some weird Chinese broccoli with tomato onion dip and I am getting used to this shit because it tasted perfectly delicous:

Then he made lunch:

1:00 lunch:  Ground Curry chicken lettuce wraps:

We then went bathing suit shopping, because we’re going to a beach at the end of April.  For the first time in my adult life, it wasn’t an excruciating experience.  I am not horrified by the state of my body.  This feels good, you guys.

We picked up some stuff for dinner and made

7pm, dinner: Butter Chicken on Spaghetti Squash

Did you know you can have butter chicken legally on the paleo diet?  OMG, either did I?  You just need to make a few modifications:

1) Light coconut milk instead of cream

2) Extra virgin olive oil instead of butter

3) Spaghetti squash instead of rice/bread

The spices in butter chicken are cinnamon, cardamom, bay leaves, cloves – all Paleo friendly.  We bought ready-made butter chicken spice mix at Whole Foods – no added salt or preservatives.  We then just chopped some onion, garlic, and chicken in a pan, added spices, then light coconut milk, and voila.  This was an instant favorite.

Dessert was sliced grapes, apples, and dates.  Super delicious food day.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hey, I have a question for you…You said you were considering sticking with this paleo diet beyond the 30-day challenge. If you do, will you have a “free” day where you can eat things not typically on the paleo diet?

I took a nutrition class awhile back, and have been doing alot more reading on various diet-related topics, and one of the concerns with low- or no-carb diets is that it can mess with your blood pH level, which can be very dangerous. I’ve been thinking about you guys and hoping that you won’t encounter any of these problems, so I just thought I’d throw it out there. If you look up “Low-carb diet” on wikipedia, it’s got some good information. I don’t fully understand all of it, but it’s something to be aware of.

Comment by Kate

Kate, yes, if I stick with it I need a free day. I miss yogurt like crazy, plain yogurt with sliced almonds or fruit used to be a staple for me. Also, I crave bread like crazy..there’s this local Italian sandwich place and on April 1st I am going in there and ordering 2 sandwiches with cheese!

Corey is so pleased with the changes in his body (he is now 100% totally, disgustingly ripped instead of 97% totally ripped) that I don’t know if he’ll do the cheat day with me. He likes the food on this diet alot.

I’ll have to look into the blood pH level thing, I’d never heard that before, but thank you for sharing, I’m interested to know more.

Comment by kristincorey

HI, I’ve enjoyed reading about your recipes. I’m wondering where you get your almond flour and coconut flour from. Can you buy those at any store?
Also I think the above poster was talking about Keto-acidosis which can occur when the body has too little fuel to run on. An unbalanced diet that contains only proteins can sometimes not have enough KCal to provide fuel, and then the body canabalizes itself, creating acidosis from muscle breakdown. I think your diet, with the all the fruits and veggies you all eat probably is balanced enough to prevent this from happening.

Comment by Becky

Becky, thank you!

Almond flour is a bit of a bitch to find. They sell it, thankfully, in the Super Valu close to my house (where they also sell locally raised organic, medication free meat) but you should be able to find it at most organic grocery stores — I would bet Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods also have it.

I buy my coconut flour through spud.ca, a local food delivery service. And yes, our monthly food bill has more than doubled since starting this diet.

Comment by kristincorey

I got my almond flour at the Bulk Barn. Almond “flour” is simply finely ground blanched almonds. So if you can’t find it, just buy blanched almonds and pulverize them in a food processor.

Comment by Kathy




Leave a Reply

