Kristin + Corey Paleo Log Blog


March 13, Day 13
March 14, 2010, 4:19 am
Filed under: Daily Not Bread, Food Log | Tags:

We’re almost halfway through this challenge and I swear it’s getting easier every day.  Everything feels taut, Corey’s muscles were always impressive but now they’re jutting through his skin and in the morning I swear to god he has an 8 pack.  I can feel a difference in my workouts – I feel stronger – and in my general moods, I feel clearheaded and focused in a way I didn’t before.

I wanted to say, at this point in the game, that this sucks and let’s quit and bring on the cheese but the truth is, the longer we do this, the less I miss bread, cheese, and cakey stuff.  Both Corey and I are feeling pretty good and we’re now both talking about making this an ongoing thing.  Only problem is: dude, it’s so expensive, especially if you insist on local and organic meat like we do.

Breakfast, 9AM, Apple Cinnamon Muffins & Half a Pink Grapefruit

We popped one of these and a bit of grapefruit before our 10am Crossfit workout (walking with giant weights and pseudo-shovelling for 20 minutes, balls, but felt really good after.)

We lollygagged around the North Shore for a bit, then went home and made brunch.

Brunch, 1 PM: Sausage + Yellow Pepper + Mushroom Omelette topped with Fresh Tomato Salsa. And a slice of watermelon.

Corey diced the tomatoes for the salsa while I prepped the omelette.  You guys, this was one of the best brunches I’ve eaten, ever.  Who needs toast?

We went to the cabin for the afternoon, everyone had burgers there.  I popped a few strawberries.

We did spaghetti on spaghetti squash again tonight.  It’s just so easy, delicious, and hearty.  Tonight we added a full chopped jalapeno for spice, and pureed sundried tomatoes, garlic, basil, cooked white onion, and garlic in the food processor to add to the sauce.  This might be the best one yet.

I had a few more strawberries for dessert and feel perfectly satisfied.  I’m looking forward to a 15K with Corey tomorrow, weather pending.

12 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’ve recently started a paleo slim down of my kitchen, in part prompted by your blogging of it. We already cook so much – and usually so “cleanly”– that it’s actually integrated pretty easily. Hardest moment: finish line of this morning’s race was all cookies and bagels. Grrrr. BUT! I am happy I am finally doing this! Have known about it and thought about it for so long that it feels nice to be DOING. Thanks!

Comment by lizteubner

Also — can you hook me up with the apple cinnamon muffin recipe?

Comment by lizteubner

Liz, wicked. So glad you’re going to give it a go. It is hard, but it seems to be worth it.

Apple Cinnamon Muffin Recipe

2 cups almond flour
2 eggs
1/4 cup water
1/2 cup unsweetened apple sauce
2 apples, skinned and diced.
2 tsp. cinnamon

I heated the apples in a bit of water to soften them, I hate super crunch things inside my muffins. Then, just combine water, apple sauce, flour, eggs and water. Stir until everything’s moist, then add apples and stir in cinnamon.

Depending on how strict you are with the sugar (I’m off it totally this month) you could add a bit of Stevia or honey because the muffins aren’t uber sweet. You can put chopped walnuts on top for a bit of added flavour. These are good.

Comment by kristincorey

Ok I hate to be super needy, but how hot/how long are you baking these?

Thank you!!

Comment by lizteubner

What, you can’t read my mind, Liz? Ha. 350, for about half an hour. They don’t get super puffy,they’re a heavier muffin.

Comment by kristincorey

Kristin thanks for doing this blog, I love getting healthy ideas for meals! I’m curious about almond flour–I have never used it–is it pretty easy to cook with? What are it’s nutritional benefits?

Comment by Anne

Annnnnd… they are cooking! Thanks!

Comment by lizteubner

Liz, let me know how they turned out. I love these even though they’re kinda rock hard and not sweet – but I think it’s because I haven’t eaten a shrapnel of bread in over two weeks – I’m not overly picky.

Comment by kristincorey

Anne, a lot of people watching their glycemic index will use almond flour instead of wheat flour because it is high in protein, low in carbohydrates and low in sugars.

(Glycemic Index is a measure of the effects of carbohydrates on blood sugar levels…generally a low GI is what you want)

A good synopsis of “Why Almond Flour” can be found here: http://www.elanaspantry.com/why-almond-flour/

It’s different than regular flour but great for pancakes, crepes and muffins on a paleo diet where wheat and rice flour are out of the question.

Comment by kristincorey

Thank you! I can’t wait to try it 🙂

Comment by Anne

Munching on one right now! I was starving when I woke up today, and slugged through my AM crossfit class thinking of these muffins waiting for me at home. You’re right, it’s not fluffy like a true muffin, but it is more than hitting the spot while I wait for my eggs to cook.
Thanks!

Comment by lizteubner

I have never really been able to like spaghetti squash that much, but this is prodding me to try again … I have tried to cut out stuff before but mostly I find that I am just so *hungry* I can’t stick to it, though I do eat pretty well (I think!) as-is. I am inspired to hear there’s an adjustment period that you’ve gotten through and now are doing great — I am v. tempted to try this!

Comment by nicole




Leave a Reply

