Kristin + Corey Paleo Log Blog


March 9, Day 9
March 10, 2010, 6:48 am
Filed under: Daily Not Bread, Emotions, Food Log | Tags: ,

We didn’t feel like eating eggs for breakfast this morning.  And I didn’t feel like chopping up a bunch of fruit for salad.  And a plain apple wouldn’t cut it either.  So we made a breakfast that doesn’t photograph well, but tasted fairly good:

8AM, Breakfast: Pina Colada Smoothie + Organic Sausage + Almond Flour Blueberry Muffin

Here’s a picture of sausage, a teeny muffin, and a smoothie.  Plus my broom and dustbin in the background.  And the two very handsome men in my life.

The breakfast was fine (pina colada smoothie with ice, fresh pineapple chunks, lite coconut milk, fresh sliced mango, almond milk, and unsweetened coconut flakes = to die for) – but we were both starved by 10 and ate a banana.  And then split a coconut Lara bar at 11.  Damn those things are good.  I found myself grateful that this wasn’t Body For Life — we probably would have surpassed our total daily calories allowance by 11 in the morning if we were still adhering to that meal plan.

Lunch, 12:30 PM – Leftover jambalaya on spaghetti squash “noodles”.

I’m finding it’s really helpful to make enough at dinner the night before to have leftovers the next day. Paleo meals can be a bit time consuming because it’s all fresh ingredients, and though Corey and I are lucky to work from home, not everyone can food process and bake up their lunch fresh every day.  The jambalaya, like the spaghetti, was even better the next day.  We used a whole chopped fresh jalapeno in this to give it an awesome kick.

My Spud order came quickly after lunch, along with some dried fruit, so I ate some of those as a snack.  I also snarfed a couple dates for sweetness.

(These dried fruits are really super good.  Recommended for a light, sweet snack.)

We did a light 9k run today – and were both disturbingly starving after.  I ate another almond flour blueberry muffin and Corey scarfed down another bowl of jambalaya.  Seriously, do we have tape worms?  I swear we didn’t eat nearly this much before.  Or maybe it’s just because I’m diarizing it?

Our Spud order included organic ground beef, fresh carrots, and a bag of some of the sweetest, best onions I’ve ever tasted.  We had cauliflower in the fridge and unsalted corn in the pantry and so:

7PM, Dinner, Paleo Shepherd’s Pie

I am not a fan of cauliflower. Scratch that, I haven’t eaten cauliflower in years so I assumed I didn’t like it but this shepherd’s pie proved me wrong.  I adapted the recipe found here, cutting out the dairy, beans and butter and adding corn and a bit of unsalted tomato paste to the beef/carrot/onion and corn base.  My cauliflower “mashed potatoes” turned out a little green because I added fresh green onions to the food processor.  But it tasted great – Corey said it might be his favorite meal so far.  And astonishingly, the Insanely Picky 4 year old ate it too.  Except for  the onions.  Maybe because the topping was green?

We had strawberries for dessert:

And just now I microwaved a bowl with a dollop of hazelnut almond butter, a handful of raisins, and a smattering of unsweetened coconut.  I offered Corey some but he politely noted that it looked like ass.  I ate it with relish, and it was good.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I can’t believe you’d give a child a pina colada cocktail for breakfast… no, actually -I’m having my 6 y.o. nephew over soon, so maybe we’ll have shots of bacardi. These kids need to loosen up a little. Think the kid in “The Squid & The Whale” -good stuff. I say give the kid and his old man some vodka slushies next time you do breakfast. What a woman!

Comment by Rock The Boat

Hmmm, I was thinking -do you think the fact that there is a lot of protein missing from your breakfast might be why you’re hungry? I have peanut butter (honey roasted, and I know it’s not on your diet… but almond butter is) and a ricecake every morning and that seems to fill me for quite awhile – I have fruit and stuff later. I’m just thinking maybe if you added a slight bit more protein in your diet that you might be more full? Just a thought.

Comment by K

I was thinking not enough protein at breakfast might be it too? But I was leaning more to your body just using the food instead of storing it? On another note, I was thinking one of my favorite deserts is likely paleo friendly, almost every night I eat a bowl of frozen blueberries with unsweetened almond milk. The blueberries freeze the milk and it becomes totally ice cream like.

Comment by Ashley




Leave a Reply

