Kristin + Corey Paleo Log Blog


March 6, Day 6
March 7, 2010, 4:34 am
Filed under: Daily Not Bread, Emotions, Food Log | Tags: , , ,

When we were following the Body For Life diet over the last few months before we found Crossfit, we had one “free day” a week.  We usually designated Friday as our  Eat Whatever the Hell We Want day so we could have pub grub and beers after work if we wanted – and I looked forward to Friday every week. Cheese!  Creamy desserts!  Delicious, garlicky cheese bread!

This Paleo challenge doesn’t have a “free day” but if it did, today would be it.  I made not one but two desserts for dinner tonight – Paleo friendly – and for the first time all week I’m full and possessing that delicious Friday Night Free Night feeling, without the cheese, bread or sugar.

I woke up before 7, and knew I’d have to take Nolan to soccer at 10:00, so I scarfed a Tropical Fruit Lara bar.  Good god, those things are awesome.

We returned with an Americano for Corey at 10:30, and I made breakfast.

Breakfast, 10:30 AM: Almond Flour Banana Crepes with Berry Sauce and Fresh Fruit

Mashed up banana, half a cup of almond flour, two eggs and two to three minutes in a slightly olive-oil greased pan and these babies are ready for the eating.  Corey and I both had 2 with berry compote and fresh pineapple, raspberries and blueberries.

Then the dock beckoned because it was sunny and the cherry blossoms were exploding and we had a crab trap that needed lowering.  And some serious lounging to do — it’s rest day:

(Resting)

We had to take the Munchkin to a birthday party at 2, and on the drive there from the Dock we scarfed a Lara bar each.  Then we went home and made lunch.

Lunch, 2 PM: Chicken Salad on Spinach

I found a Paleo-friendly recipe for mayo linked from the Crossfit BC webpage.  I just omitted the salt, and it was obviously less sugary and sweet than store brands, but still tasty.  I added pepper and tossed celery, grapes, and chicken over spinach with a bit of homemade mayo.  Pinenuts on top.  Fab.

I wanted to make a really nice dinner, and Corey and I had both been thinking about the awesome spaghetti we made earlier this week.  We bought some spaghetti squash and did the same thing again, this time using organic turkey instead of lean ground beef.  So, so good guys.

Dinner, 7 PM: Turkey Spaghetti + Spaghetti Squash

Lots of mushrooms, onions, fresh basil and thyme, organic tomatoes, paste, and pepper.  I’d strongly recommend this for people watching carb intake who really miss pasta.

I wanted to make cookies, but the only recipe I could find that was Paleo friendly had raisins in them, and Corey fervently believes that Raisins Should Be Kept out of cookies.  So I made banana custard for him, and cookies for me.  I ate a bit of both.  Whoa!  Cravings squashed.  But I definitely won’t be doing that every night.  They may be paleo, but they’re also pretty high cal.

(Banana custard with cinnamon sprinkles.)

(Cinnamon raising cookies.  I think I slightly undercooked these so they were gooey but I think that made them even better.  These were made with eggs, cinnamon, almond flour, and raisins and were super delicious.

I felt really good today: energy restored and satisfied all day.  One thing of note: we ordered organic turkey meat from Spud and we didn’t realize it was salted (like most deli meats are)  We could not believe the potency of the salt taste; it’s only taken 5 days for our bodies to get used to reduced salt and eating something with the “normal” amount of salt in it was almost overpowering.  Incredible.

We’re doing our long run tomorrow, and I can feel I’ll have lots of energy for it.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

