Kristin + Corey Paleo Log Blog


Day 1 – March 1
March 2, 2010, 5:03 am
Filed under: Daily Not Bread | Tags: , , ,

I spent last night scouring paleo-friendly recipes online and turns out, there’s not a whole lot of resources out  there.  But I found enough to get us by for a few weeks at least, and I may do a little creative crockery of my own, which will likely be terrifying for all involved. Good thing Corey’s a patient dude, and will eat anything with relish (even brussel sprouts.) (I know. Who is he?)

We cruised through day 1, eating really well.  Actually, I ate quite a bit more than usual and I think that was because I knew there was no bread in my immediate future and my stomach was panicking.

Breakfast: almond flour pancakes with unsweetened apple sauce and fresh strawberries + pineapple for topping.

Two small pancakes.  Super tasty but I was hungry about an hour later.

Midmorning snack: “Live Bar” Found them at Whole Foods, and grabbed some knowing I’d be craving “doughy” kind of stuff.  These are 110 calories a pop and they’re small and rich and made of dates, raisins, hazelnuts, pecans, unsweetened coconut and organic sesame seeds.  I give them a 6 out of 10.

Lunch – Hazelnut Grape Chicken Salad

I used locally raised, organic, free-range chicken and cooked it in a little olive oil, lemon, and garlic.  The grapes and pineapple in the salad were juicy enough that it didn’t need dressing. But I admit I missed something bready or creamy and so at around 2:00 I had a BC gala apple and a smear of almond butter, which was insanely good.

Midafternoon Snack: I was hungry again (what the hell? Maybe because of our epic Lions Gate run yesterday?)  at about 4:00 and knew we wouldn’t eat till after 7:00 as Nolan had swimming.  These Lara bars are paleo friendly and delicious, though the calorie count of 220 freaks me out a little – will use sparingly.

Dinner: The highlight of the day.  Corey had to go downtown to his office today so he picked up some fresh salmon.  We bar-b-q’d it with an improvised sundried tomato romoulade I made in the food processor using tomatoes, pine nuts, olive oil, fresh basil, ground pepper, and unsalted tomato juice.  It was amazing with a plain yam.

We had a few chunks of fresh cantaloupe for dessert.

Other than a Nutella jar that screamed at me from the cupboard all day, it went smooth.  (we gave the Nutella to my brother’s girlfriend tonight, no more temptation anywhere in the house.) I ran 6K and did a short workout at Crossfit and felt energetic and satisfied all day.  I’m already looking forward to the fruit salad I’m going to make for breakfast tomorrow.

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hey guys!
I wish the best on this effort – I’ve tried it before and it is hard hard hard, but it’s great to break out of some of the gluten dependencies.

I read on Aquafit that you guys like a lot of carrots – one soup that is stupid easy to make (and so far is kid approved) I make a lot in the winter is a Carrot Ginger Soup (this will only work if you haven’t cut out coconut milk — not sure where you stand on that?):

Saute chopped onion with some coconut (or olive) oil, cinnamon (1 tsp), ginger (fresh grated – 1 tbsp, though I often cheat and use ground ginger) and chili powder (1/2 tsp. Chipotle powder is a nice alternative) in a large pot for about 1 minute
Add 6 cups of chopped/peeled carrots (chopped to about an 1 inch – baby carrots work as well) and 1 can of coconut milk. Bring to a boil, then reduce to medium-low heat and cover. Simmer for about 10 minutes, or until carrots are soft (baby carrots will soften up before reg carrots, reg. carrots take about 20 minutes).
After carrots have softened, add salt and pepper to taste, and then puree soup mixture in food processor or blender (I use an immersion blender) and pour back into pot.
Add grilled chicken (cubed), serve!

The original recipe calls for 3/4 cup of orange juice and only half a can of coconut milk, but I try to avoid all that sugar so I tend to skip the OJ and use the full can of coconut milk, will occasionally add some lemon juice to give it an extra kick.

Enjoy! Unless, of course, you’ve cut out Coconut milk as well, in which case, uhhh…try it in April 🙂

Comment by Liz

Awesome job! Can you link to or post the recipe for the pancakes? Those sound great.

Comment by Amy

Amy, my intention was to make these banana almond butter pancakes: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/almond-banana-pancakes/

But then we lost our bananas. Seriously, we lost a whole bunch of bananas somewhere between Whole Foods and here. Whatevs, I improvised and they were rad:

1/2 cup almond flour
3 eggs
1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce

Pour in hot skillet with a bit of olive oil. Makes about 5 small pancakes. I topped ours with strawberries and fresh pineapple.

And Liz, you are awesome. Coconut milk is stoll OK according to our gym’s rules, so I am going to give the soup a try this week. Thank you!

Comment by kristincorey

Coconut milk is a total staple of my paleo pantry! As is coconut oil for cooking. Amzing stuff.

Comment by Leigh

I’ve baked with coconut flour and the results were …. different than what I was used to. Not bad, but different. If you use it, I’d love to hear what you think.

Comment by Kate

Kate – haven’t tried coconut flour yet, but I’ll pick up a bag when the almond flour is gone. I find the almond flour a bit heavy – but tasty.

Comment by kristincorey




Leave a Reply

