Kristin + Corey Paleo Log Blog


March 14, Day 14

My cousin was in Vancouver from Winnipeg this weekend, and my brother took him out crabbing off my parent’s dock in deep cove.  They left the ne

t out overnight and the reward was awesome: ten big, beautiful crab to be used by them in immense amounts of butter and garlic.  We were given two.  Corey bashed them up on the patio, all hunter-gatherly, and then pried out their flesh.  Those things are picky as all hell to prepare, but my god they’re worth it.

I marinated the crabmeat in lemon, garlic, and pepper, and put them on a frittata with green onions and sliced ripe avocado.

Breakfast, 9 am: Crab + Avocado Frittata with Fresh Salsa and Fruit Salad

The frittata was awesome and easy (we used leftover salsa) and the fruit salad was delicious too.  I used pears, apples, mango, pineapple, grapes, and then I heated up some plain frozen blackberries until they became a kind of sauce, and drizzled those over the fruit.   God.  We’re totally eating like kings.

10:30, snack: Blackberry + Banana Smoothie with Almond Milk and Ice

Lunch, 1:00.  Leftover Spaghetti + Spaghetti Squash

It’s consistently better the next day, and we never get sick of it.  It was my favourite paleo meal until tonight…

Dinner, 7PM, Turkey Curry Shepherd’s Pie with Sweet Potato Topping

OK, so this didn’t photograph well.  But Corey and I both ate it silently and gluttonously and made gutteral satisfied noises of delight.  I think Corey’s polished off the rest of it.

The thought of cooking Thai during this challenge didn’t occur to us because the store bought green and red curry pastes have a whack of salt.  But I found a package of additive and salt free curry paste at the organic market by my house and my brain started rumbling.

I’m going to post the recipe here, it’s that good.

3 medium sized organic yams

1 package organic lean ground turkey meat

1 medium yellow onion

1 red pepper, cut in strips

2 fresh carrots, chopped into coins

1 can low fat coconut milk, unsweetened.

1 package Thai green curry paste. We used Asian Home Gourmet because it has no added sugar or additives.

handful fresh chopped basil

2 tbsp shredded unsweetened coconut

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 cup plain almond milk

1. Nuke yams for 15-17 minutes on high.  Poke them first! (Cook them in the oven if you’re not lazy/have more time, it’s totally up to you.)

2. While they cook, dice up an onion and add turkey meat to slightly olive-oil coated fry pan. Cook till turkey is brown.

3. Add carrots and red pepper until tender crisp.  Now add the green curry paste (1 packet) and the full can of low fat coconut milk.

Stir until you cannot handle it anymore and have a taste.  It’s good, right?  I know!  My god.

4. The yams should be done.  Take them out of the microwave, split them in two and scoop out the flesh.  Mash up, throw in some cinnamon.

5. Place the turkey meat mixture in a casserole dish and spread yams and cinnamon on top.  Sprinkle with a few teaspoons of shredded coconut (unsweetened)  Cook at 350 for about half an hour.

This should make about 4 good-sized portions.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’ve always had a love affair with Vancouver, but the idea of catching one’s own crab? You’re killing me.

Whenever I am cooking from home a lot, I always feel like I am eating like a king. It’s amazing. The cookbook that really turned me around was “Barefoot Contessa’s Back to Basics.” While not intending to be paleo, most of the recipe’s are only three or four ingredients, and can be easily adapted. The food is so simple that I often can’t believe that one or two ingredient’s yields food that is SO GOOD. It almost feels like cheating.

Comment by lizteubner

Have you thought about making your own curry pastes? Jamie Oliver’s new book (Jamie’s Food Revolution here in the states; it’s called Jamie’s Ministry of Food in the UK so I’m not sure what the title would be in Canada) has some amazing curry pastes. We’ve made the thai green curry recipe several times, and while not designed to be paleo, could probably be that way easily.

Comment by becky

Liz, come visit anytime! We love to crab and actually, pulling up the traps can be a workout in itself!

Becky, I’ll check out Jamie’s book. Most store bought Thai pastes do have added salt, though you can find the brands without if you scour organic and natural markets.

Comment by kristincorey




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

